Family and Divorce Law in Little Rock, AR
In Arkansas, you must establish grounds to obtain a divorce unless you have been separated for 18 months.
The Grounds as set forth in Arkansas Code Annotated section 9-12-301 are:
- Impotence This requires that either party was at the time of the marriage and still is impotent.
- Felony or Other Infamous Crime If either party is convicted of a felony during the marriage.
- Habitual Drunkenness for One Year
- General Indignities These grounds are the most often cited reason for divorce. This includes such indignities to the person as shall render the spouse’s condition intolerable.
- Willful Failure to Support
A party seeking a divorce must prove:
[Arkansas Code Annotated section 9-12-307]
- Residence in Arkansas of either party for 60 days prior to the commencement of the action;
- That the cause for divorce existed within five years before the complaint was filed; and
- That the cause of action for divorce existed or occurred in Arkansas or if it occurred outside, the acts constitute grounds under Arkansas law.
If you need a Divorce Lawyer in Little Rock AR, then contact Lisa Douglas Today!