If you are considering a divorce, one of the first steps you should take is contacting a Little Rock divorce lawyer. Although you may have decided your marriage is over, the state of Arkansas has rules that anyone going through the divorce process must adhere to.
One of the first conditions that need to be met for an Arkansas divorce is that the person filing must have been a legal resident of the state for at least 60 days prior to filing. A person seeking an Arkansas divorce must also have recognized grounds for that divorce. Grounds for divorce can be either no-fault or fault. A divorce lawyer in Little Rock can help you determine what your grounds for divorce are.
Couples can file for a divorce without citing a ground if they have been living separately for at least 18 months prior to the filing. Both spouses must also consent to the divorce. Your Little Rock divorce lawyer may remind you that if there is any cohabitation with your spouse during the 18 months, it stops the separation clock and the 18 month separation period must start all over again.
If you have not lived apart from your spouse for 18 months, your Little Rock divorce lawyer can examine the facts of the case and cite for the court the grounds by which your marriage should be dissolved. Under Arkansas law, the following are recognized faults:
- If your spouse has been convicted of a felony;
- If your spouse has been habitually drunk for at least one year;
- General indignities;
- Cruelty; or
Division of Property in an Arkansas Divorce
Arkansas is an equitable distribution state. This means that property is divided in what the courts consider a fair and just distribution, however, it may not necessarily be an equal division of 50/50. A divorce lawyer in Little Rock can be very familiar with how this process takes place during divorce settlement negotiations.
You may want to discuss with your Little Rock divorce lawyer whether you qualify for spousal support or whether you may have to pay spousal support, depending on your case. Alimony is usually granted on a case by case basis. Courts may consider the marital standard of living the couples had, as well as the spouse’s capacity to earn a living.
How Long Will My Divorce Take
Arkansas has a three-month waiting period before a divorce is considered final. Divorces which involve issues that require litigation can drag on for months or years, depending on how contentious these issues become.
Let a Divorce Lawyer in Little Rock Fight for You
Going through a divorce – even one you have filed for – can be an overwhelming and emotional experience. Even a friendly divorce can have stressful issues that must be dealt with. This is why you need to contact a skilled Little Rock divorce lawyer. Call the Law Offices of Lisa A. Douglas, Inc. at (501) 798-0004 to schedule a free consultation. You may also fill out the contact form on our website.